Found this useful? Help other drivers like you:

North Carolina DMV Resource Links & FAQs

Here you’ll find everything you need to prepare for your tests and tasks with the North Carolina DMV.

Driver’s license and vehicle tasks are completed with the Division of Motor Vehicles. The official website for the North Carolina DMV is:

Online Services at the North Carolina DMV

If you can avoid a trip to your local DMV office, you’re in luck. The North Carolina DMV offers the following services online:

  • Renew license.
  • Duplicate license.
  • Get driving records.
  • Make an appointment.
  • Renew registration.
  • Pay vehicle property taxes.
  • Duplicate registration card.

Visit to set up an online account and complete your driver’s license and vehicle tasks online.

North Carolina Driver’s Licenses & Learner’s Permits is designed to help you prepare for and pass your DMV written tests – all for free!

We want you to focus on studying and being a safe driver. We don’t think you should pay extra for this.

North Carolina DMV Practice Tests

North Carolina DMV Permit Practice Test

Road Signs & Traffic Signals Practice Test

Free North Carolina DMV Cheat Sheets & Study Guides (Including Free PDF Print-Outs)

We also provide overviews of the steps you’ll need to take at the DMV, so you can be better prepared and know what to expect when it comes time to make a visit to your local office or complete a task online or through the mail. You’ll also find tips and guides designed to help make you the most knowledgeable driver and vehicle owner as possible.

How to Get a Driver’s License in North Carolina

Driver’s Education in North Carolina

REAL ID Identification Requirements at the DMV

Driver’s License for Undocumented Immigrants

Driving Safety Topics: Distracted Driving, Defensive Driving, DUI, Seat Belt Laws, and More!

North Carolina Motorcycle License & CDL

Are you interested in obtaining other types of driver’s licenses and endorsements in North Carolina? has you covered!

North Carolina Motorcycle License Practice Tests & Application Requirements

North Carolina Motorcycle Written Exam Simulation

Free CDL Practice Tests & Guides

North Carolina Car Registration & Title

After you get your driver’s license, you’re going to need something to drive, right? We’ve got the information you’ll need to get started.

North Carolina Car Registration & Title Information

Smog Check & Vehicle Inspection Requirements

Car Insurance Requirements

Vehicle History Reports

Free Bill of Sale Form

North Carolina License & Registration FAQs

What documents do I need to get a North Carolina driver’s license?

You need proof of your identity, address, and Social Security Number.

How do I renew my driver’s license in North Carolina?

You can renew your license online, by mail, or in person.

How long do I have to renew my North Carolina driver’s license after it expires?

You have up to 2 years to renew after the expiration date before you have to retake your tests. Don’t drive with an expired license or you may face penalties.

Do I need a new driver’s license when I move to North Carolina?

Yes, you must get a North Carolina driver’s license within 60 days.

When will I receive my North Carolina driver’s license after renewing or replacing it?

You should receive it within a couple of weeks.

Can I get a copy of my North Carolina registration online?

Yes, you can.

How do I renew my car registration in North Carolina?

You can renew online, by mail, or in person.

Can I renew my car registration online in North Carolina?

Yes, you can.

What happens if my North Carolina car registration is expired?

You have 15 days after the valid through date to renew it. However, you will be charged a late fee.

When will I receive my North Carolina car registration and license plate stickers/tabs after I renew or replace them?

Your new registration documents should arrive in a few weeks.

How much of my North Carolina car registration is tax deductible?

You can deduct your car registration fees from your federal income taxes if a portion of your registration is based on the vehicle’s value. Refer to your registration documents for details.

Do I need to register my vehicle when moving to North Carolina?

Yes, you need to do so within 60 days of moving.

North Carolina DMV Office Locations & Appointments

Sometimes there’s nothing you can do to avoid a trip to the DMV.

Use the North Carolina office finder to locate DMVs near you:

Here you’ll be able to find:

  • Addresses and directions.
  • DMV Office Hours.
  • Holiday and Weekend Schedules.
  • Acceptable forms of payment.
  • Current wait times, if available.

Remember, if you do have to visit the North Carolina DMV, it’s always a good idea to make an appointment. This can help reduce the time you’ll need to spend there.

Shopping Cart