Practice Test Instructions:
- Choose the best answer and receive instant feedback.
- Click next to go to the next question.
- Check your results at the end.
- Start a new version and keep studying!
Each test contains questions based on information in the official driver's handbook.
Good luck - PuedoManejar.com!
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide and Pass the Written Exam!
✔Over 97% of customers pass the first time
✔Study on your computer, phone, or tablet
✔100% money back guarantee if you don't pass
Get Your Written Test Study Guide!
|Your Total Score|
PuedoManejar.com! - Free DMV Practice Tests & So Much More
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide!
Find more free DMV practice tests from PuedoManejar.com to help you pass your real exams!
Pass your Real Exam on your First Try with this Free West Virginia Practice Permit Test
Pass the written test for your West Virginia driver’s license the first time! Use this free practice test to help you prepare.
Ready to test your knowledge? Take the West Virginia DMV permit practice test.
This quiz and other free resources you can find on PuedoManejar.com will help you get your West Virginia learner’s permit and full driver’s license.
The real DMV test questions are multiple-choice, so with these free WV DMV practice tests, you’ll be well on your way to feeling confident for the real exam.
WV DMV Sample Test Questions
Use these sample questions in addition to the West Virginia DMV practice test above to study for your driver’s license written exam. These questions are based on information you can find in your official driver’s handbook.
1. A broken yellow centerline means that:
- You can pass on the left if there is no traffic coming from the opposite direction.
- You can pass on the right if there is no traffic coming from the opposite direction.
- You may not pass under any circumstances.
- You can only pass if there is also a road sign that allows it.
2. If you are in the intersection when the light turns red:
- Make a u-turn.
- Stop until the light turns green.
- Reverse back behind the limit line.
- Proceed through when traffic clears.
3. How long should you signal before you turn?
- 500 feet.
- 100 feet.
- 50 feet.
- 25 feet.
4. If you pass a working emergency vehicle stopped on the side of a freeway you are to:
- Stop near the emergency vehicle to check if they need help.
- Speed up to get past the emergency vehicle quickly
- Pull over to the right side of the road and come to a stop.
- Vacate the closest lane if safe and possible to do so.
5. What are the consequences if you fail to stop for a school bus with flashing red lights?
- There are no consequences.
- A warning from a police officer.
- Expensive fines and a suspended driver’s license.
- A minor traffic ticket.
Please refer to the section below to find the answers to the sample questions above.
WV DMV Written Test Answers
Check your answers below to see how you did. Click through to find an explanation for each topic. Remember to read through your driver’s handbook to gain an understanding of each topic that may show up on the official exam.
1. A broken yellow centerline means that: A. You can pass on the left if there is no traffic coming from the opposite direction.
2. If you are in the intersection when the light turns red: D. Proceed through when traffic clears.
3. How long should you signal before you turn? B. 100 feet.
4. If you pass a working emergency vehicle stopped on the side of a freeway you are to: D. Vacate the closest lane if safe and possible to do so.
5. What are the consequences if you fail to stop for a school bus with flashing red lights? C. Expensive fines and a suspended driver’s license.
Study the West Virginia Driver’s Handbook
Here’s what you’ll find in the West Virginia driver’s manual:
- Driver safety.
- Rules of the road.
- Traffic laws.
- Road signs and traffic signals.
- Headlights and driving at night.
- Influence of alcohol and drugs on your ability to drive.
All of the answers you’ll need to know to pass your test can be found in the driver manual.
Check out the WV DMV driver manual study guide to help you prepare.
West Virginia DMV Written Test Requirements
There are a total of 25 questions on the West Virginia DMV written test for your driver’s license.
To pass the test, you will need at least 19 correct answers (76%).
The test is based on the information you can find in the WV DMV driver’s manual.
When you are ready to take the exam, you’ll need to visit your local DMV office and:
- Submit an application.
- Be accompanied by your parent or legal guardian, if applicable.
- Provide proof of your identity, residency, and legal presence.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass the written exam.
- Pay the application fees.
After Passing the Written Exam
If you are 18 years of age or older and have never received a license, you will obtain a learner’s permit after passing the written exam.
If you are under 18 years of age, you will also receive a learner’s permit after passing the written test.
A West Virginia driver permit will allow you to practice driving with a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old and sitting next to you in the front seat.
West Virginia Driver’s License & Testing FAQs
Check out the FAQs below to find answers to common questions about getting your driver’s license and taking your written test.
What is the minimum age to obtain a learner permit in West Virginia?
You can obtain a driver permit in West Virginia when you are at least 15 years old.
How long do you have to have a learner’s permit?
If you are at least 18 years old, you will have to practice with you an instruction permit at least 30 days before you can take the road test.
If you are under 18 years of age, you will have to keep your permit for at least 6 months.
What are the supervised driving requirements if you are under 18 in WV?
If you are under 18, you must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice.
Number of Questions on the WV Permit Test
The WV written test has 25 multiple multiple-choice and true / false questions.
What is a passing score on the WV DMV test?
You must answer at least 19 of the 25 questions correctly to pass the test (76%).
How old must you be to apply for a driver’s license in West Virginia?
Drivers under 18 years old will need to satisfy the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles GDL requirements.
You will be eligible for an intermediate driver’s license once you are at least 16 years old and have a permit for 6 months.
You will be eligible for a full driver’s license once you are at least 17 years old and have a provisional license for at least 1 year or if you are 18 years old.
For more information of the application process and requirements, check out our guides on: