Practice Test Instructions:
- Choose the best answer and receive instant feedback.
- Click next to go to the next question.
- Check your results at the end.
- Start a new version and keep studying!
Each test contains questions based on information in the official driver's handbook.
Good luck - PuedoManejar.com!
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide and Pass the Written Exam!
✔Over 97% of customers pass the first time
✔Study on your computer, phone, or tablet
✔100% money back guarantee if you don't pass
Get Your Written Test Study Guide!
|Your Total Score|
PuedoManejar.com! - Free DMV Practice Tests & So Much More
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide!
Find more free DMV practice tests from PuedoManejar.com to help you pass your real exams!
Pass the written test for your Texas driver’s license the first time!
Use this free Texas DMV practice test to help you prepare.
Ready to test your knowledge? Take the Texas DMV permit practice test.
TX DPS Sample Test Questions
Use these sample questions in addition to the Texas DPS practice test above to study for your driver’s license written exam. These questions are based on information you can find in your official driver’s handbook.
1. When are U turns legal?
- One a one-way street.
- At railroad crossings.
- On highways where an opening is provided in the center median that allows U-turns.
- Over two sets of double yellow lines.
2. True or False? You may pass on a two-way road that is marked with a broken yellow line.
3. When they see a yellow x signal, drivers should:
- Move over because it is switching to be used by traffic moving in the opposite direction.
- Stay in the lane because it is changing to green.
- Slow down.
- Be prepared to come to a complete stop.
4. In a school zone, when must a driver stop?
- When children are crossing the street.
- When a school bus is stopped with its red lights flashing.
- When instructed to do so by a crossing guard.
- In all of these situations.
5. In a standard passenger car, partial hydroplaning can begin at speeds as low as:
- 10 mph.
- 25 mph.
- 35 mph.
- 55 mph.
Please refer to the section below to find the answers to the sample questions above.
TX DPS Written Test Answers
Check your answers below to see how you did. Click through to find an explanation for each topic. Remember to read through your driver’s handbook to gain an understanding of each topic that may show up on the official exam.
1. When are U turns legal? C. On highways where an opening is provided in the center median that allows U-turns.
3. When they see a yellow x signal, drivers should: A. Move over because it is switching to be used by traffic moving in the opposite direction.
4. In a school zone, when must a driver stop? D. In all of these situations.
Study the Texas Driver’s Manual
Everything you’ll find on the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) permit test can be found in your driver manual.
Here’s what you’ll study in the Texas driver handbook:
- Information about your driver’s license.
- Vehicle inspection and registration.
- Right of way.
- Signals, signs and markers.
- Speed and speed limits.
- Effects of alcohol and drugs on the ability to drive.
- Car accidents.
- Pedestrian safety.
- Bicycle laws and safety.
- Additional driving safety tips.
- Intersections and railroad crossings.
- Headlights and driving at night.
- Types of traffic lanes.
- Traffic lights.
To help with your studying, check our our free Texas DMV Driver Handbook study guide.
Texas DPS Written Test Requirements
The written knowledge of Texas DPS is based on the information contained in the driver’s manual. There are 30 questions in total. You will have to get 21 correct questions (70%) to pass the test.
If you fail the written test, you will have a maximum of 3 attempts within 90 days before you need to reapply and pay the application fee again.
After passing the written test, you will receive your learner’s permit. If you are over 18 years of age you can take your driving test.
After Passing the Written Exam
If you are under 18 years of age, you will receive a learner’s permit after passing the TX DPS written test.
With your learner’s permit you can practice driving with a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old. You will have to hold the learner’s permit for at least 6 months before you are eligible to take your road test and receive your provisional driver’s license.
If you are over 18 years of age, you can take the driving test and receive your driver’s license after passing the written test.
Texas Driver’s License & Testing FAQs
Check out the FAQs below to find answers to common questions about getting your driver’s license and taking your written test.
Can you take the Texas written driving test online?
If you are enrolled in an approved Texas driver’s education course, you may be eligible to take the written test online.
First, you’ll need to enroll in and complete a course.
At the end of the course, you’ll be able to take the written test online.
You will have up to 3 attempts to pass.
Once you do, you’ll be able to print out a proof of completion form, which you’ll need to submit to the DPS to get your learner license.
What is the minimum age to obtain a learner permit in Texas?
The minimum age to apply for a Texas student permit is 15 years.
To be eligible for a learner’s permit, you will need to complete a driver education program.
To apply, you’ll need to:
- Visit your local DPS office.
- Complete a driver’s license application.
- Provide proof of completion of a driver education course.
- Provide proof of school attendance, if applicable.
- Provide proof of your identity, age, and legal presence (birth certificate, Social Security Number, Passport, etc.)
- Provide proof of your Texas residency.
- Pass a vision screening.
- Pass the written knowledge test (or complete one through an approved 3rd party provider.)
- Pay the licensing and application fees.
For more details on the licensing process and what to expect at the driver license office, check out our guides on:
How long do you have to have a learner’s permit for if you are under 18?
If you are under 18, you will have to keep your learner’s permit for at least 6 months and be at least 16 years old to apply for a provisional license.
How many questions are on the Texas DMV written test?
There are 30 multiple-choice questions on the Texas DPS written driver’s license test.
Is the Texas DMV written test hard?
If you study and prepare, the Texas permit test shouldn’t be too difficult to pass.
You will have to get a 70% correct to pass the written test (21 questions).
Everything you need to know to pass the test can be found in the official driver’s handbook.
Be sure to supplement your studies with our free Texas DMV practice tests!
What happens if you fail the written test?
If you fail the written driver’s license test, you will have a total of 3 attempts within 90 days before you need reapply and pay the application fee again.
How old must you be to apply for a driver’s license in Texas?
To get a provisional or restricted driver’s license in Texas, you must be at least 16 years old.
A full and unrestricted driver’s license is available when you turn 18 years old.
What are the driving restrictions for a graduated driver’s license (GDL) or a provisional license?
If you are under 18 years of age you cannot drive with more than one passenger who is under 21 years of age and not a family member.
You cannot drive between 12 am and 5 am unless you drive to work, to attend a school-related activity, or due to a medical emergency.