For the Real LA OMV Written Test:
- How Many Questions:40
- How Many Correct Answers to Pass:32
- Passing Score:80%
Louisiana OMV Driver’s License Practice Test Instructions:
- Choose the best answer and receive instant feedback.
- Click next to go to the next question.
- Check your results at the end.
- Start a new version and keep studying!
Each test contains questions based on information in the official driver’s handbook for 2023.
Good luck – PuedoManejar.com!
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide and Pass the Written Exam!
✔Over 97% of customers pass the first time
✔Study on your computer, phone, or tablet
✔100% money back guarantee if you don’t pass
|Your Total Score|
PuedoManejar.com! – Free DMV Practice Tests & So Much More
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide!
Find more free DMV practice tests from PuedoManejar.com to help you pass your real exams!
Examen de Manejo Louisiana en Español
Pass the written test for your Louisiana driver’s license the first time! Use this free practice test to help you prepare.
Ready to test your knowledge? Take the Louisiana DMV permit practice test.
LA OMV Sample Test Questions
Use these sample questions in addition to the Louisiana OMV practice test above to study for your driver’s license written exam. These questions are based on information you can find in your official driver’s handbook.
1. Highway hypnosis is related to __.
- Staring at the road ahead for too long.
- Actively scanning the road around you as you drive.
- Driving when you are too tired.
- Driving under the influence.
2. Many cars will begin to float in as little as __ of standing water.
- 3 feet.
- 2 feet.
- 1 foot.
- 6 inches.
3. Crossbuck signs indicate:
- You are approaching an intersection.
- You are approaching a railroad crossing.
- You must come to a complete stop.
- You must yield to other traffic.
4. An edge line that angles toward the center of the road indicates that:
- The road widens ahead.
- The road narrows ahead.
- There is a merge ahead.
- The should can be used for passing.
5. A yellow, diamond shaped sign with a black cross on it means there’s __ ahead.
- A railroad crossing.
- An intersection.
- A crosswalk.
- A church.
Please refer to the section below to find the answers to the sample questions above.
LA OMV Written Test Answers
Check your answers below to see how you did. Click through to find an explanation for each topic. Remember to read through your driver’s handbook to gain an understanding of each topic that may show up on the official exam.
1. Highway hypnosis is related to __. A. Staring at the road ahead for too long.
2. Many cars will begin to float in as little as __ of standing water. D. 6 inches.
3. Crossbuck signs indicate: B. You are approaching a railroad crossing.
4. An edge line that angles toward the center of the road indicates that: B. The road narrows ahead.
5. A yellow, diamond shaped sign with a black cross on it means there’s __ ahead. B. An intersection.
Continue studying for your Louisiana knowledge test with more free DMV practice tests and explanations in our DMV written test question and answers section.
Louisiana Driver’s Handbook
What you’ll find in the LA driver’s handbook:
- Steps to obtain a driver’s license.
- Road systems.
- Signs, traffic lights, pavement markings.
- Basic driving and safety tips.
- Safe driving habits.
- Traffic laws and regulations.
- Driving risks and emergencies.
Louisiana OMV Written Test Requirements
The written Louisiana driver license test contains a total of 40 questions.
The test will ask questions about the rules of the road, the regulation of the driver’s license and traffic signs. All information about the exam can be found in the OMV driver’s license manual.
To pass the test you must write 80% (answer 32 questions correctly).
After Passing the Written Test
If you are under 18, passing the written test will allow you to receive your learner’s permit and start practicing your driving. With a learner’s permit you can drive when accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 21 years of age or a licensed sibling who is at least 18 years old.
If you are over 18 years of age, passing the written test will allow you to take the driving skills test and receive your standard driver’s license. Beginner drivers over 18 will have to complete a pre-license course to be eligible for a driver’s license.
Louisiana Driver’s License & Testing FAQs
Check out the FAQs below to find answers to common questions about getting your driver’s license and taking your written test.
What is the minimum age to obtain a learner permit in Louisiana?
The minimum age to apply for a permit in Louisiana is 15 years old.
How long do you have to have a learner’s permit for if you are under 18?
If you are under 18, you will have to have your driving permit for at least 180 days.
What are the supervised driving requirements if you are under 18 in LA?
With a learner’s permit, you will need to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed adult. At least 15 hours must be completed at night.
How many questions are there on the written test in LA?
There are 40 questions on the OMV written test for your driver’s license.
How many correct questions do you need to get in order to pass the test?
You must answer at least 32 questions correctly (80%) to pass the written exam.
How old must you be to apply for a driver’s license in Louisiana?
You must be at least 16 years old and have had a learner’s permit for at least 180 days to be eligible for an intermediate driver’s license.
Drivers under 18 years of age will be eligible for a full driver’s license after having an intermediate license for at least 1 year or when you turn 18 years old.
If you are over 18 years of age, you will be eligible for a standard driver’s license.
What are the driving restrictions for a graduated driver’s license (GDL) or a provisional license?
With an intermediate driver’s license in Louisiana you can only drive with another passenger in the car unless accompanied by a licensed adult.
You cannot drive by yourself between 11 pm and 5 am.
Between 6 pm and 5 am, you cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 21 unless the passenger is an immediate family member.