Practice Test Instructions:
- Choose the best answer and receive instant feedback.
- Click next to go to the next question.
- Check your results at the end.
- Start a new version and keep studying!
Each test contains questions based on information in the official driver's handbook.
Good luck - PuedoManejar.com!
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide and Pass the Written Exam!
✔Over 97% of customers pass the first time
✔Study on your computer, phone, or tablet
✔100% money back guarantee if you don't pass
Get Your Written Test Study Guide!
|Your Total Score|
PuedoManejar.com! - Free DMV Practice Tests & So Much More
Want to Pass Your DMV Written Test the First Time?
Get Your Study Guide!
Find more free DMV practice tests from PuedoManejar.com to help you pass your real exams!
Pass the written test for your Kansas driver’s license the first time! Use this free practice test to help you prepare.
Ready to test your knowledge? Take the Kansas DMV permit practice test.
KS Division of Vehicles Sample Test Questions
Use these sample questions in addition to the Kansas DMV practice test above to study for your driver’s license written exam. These questions are based on information you can find in your official driver’s handbook.
1. When you are driving at 55 mph, you will need a stopping distance of about:
- 50 to 200 feet.
- 150 to 250 feet.
- 250 to 300 feet.
- 500 to 750 feet.
2. What does a yellow arrow mean?
- Speed up.
- Prepare to stop and yield to oncoming traffic.
- The light is changing to a green arrow.
- You must reverse.
3. Which of the following is not true about seat belts?
- Seat belts are only required for passengers under 18 years old.
- Seat belts are not effective in low speed collisions.
- Seat belts do not need to be worn on short drives.
- None of these are true.
4. Backing your vehicle is:
- Always safe.
- Never dangerous.
- Sometimes dangerous.
- Always dangerous.
5. If a driver sees an animal on the roadway:
- Slow down and be prepared to stop.
- Swerve quickly to avoid the animal.
- Honk your horn or make noise to get the animal to move.
- Speed up to pass the animal quickly.
Please refer to the section below to find the answers to the sample questions above.
KS DOR Written Test Answers
Check your answers below to see how you did. Click through to find an explanation for each topic. Remember to read through your driver’s handbook to gain an understanding of each topic that may show up on the official exam.
1. When you are driving at 55 mph, you will need a stopping distance of about: C. 250 to 300 feet.
2. What does a yellow arrow mean? B. Prepare to stop and yield to oncoming traffic.
3. Which of the following is not true about seat belts? D. None of these are true.
4. Backing your vehicle is: D. Always dangerous.
5. If a driver sees an animal on the roadway: A. Slow down and be prepared to stop.
Kansas Driver’s Manual
What you’ll find in the KS driver’s manual:
- Types of driver’s licenses.
- Rules of the road.
- Driving safety.
- Traffic signs, signs and pavement markings.
- Laws regarding alcohol and drugs.
Kansas DMV Written Test Requirements
The Kansas written driver’s license exam has a total of 25 questions. You will have to answer 20 of 25 correctly to pass (80%).
The questions are based on the information you can find in the Kansas driver’s manual and practice with the free practice test above.
After Passing the KS Written Test
If you are under 17, passing the written test will allow you to receive your driving license and begin your supervised driving practice.
If you are at least 17 years old, you can take the driving test after passing the written test to get your driver’s license.
Kansas Driver’s License & Testing FAQs
Check out the FAQs below to find answers to common questions about getting your driver’s license and taking your written test.
What is the minimum age to obtain a learner permit in Kansas?
The minimum age to receive an instruction permit in Kansas is 14 years old.
How long do you have to have a learner’s permit for if you are under 18?
If you are under 17, you will have to keep your learner’s permit at least one year before you can move on to a restricted driver’s license.
What are the supervised driving requirements if you are under 18 in KS?
You will have to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice to qualify for a license of provisional driving when you are 16 years old.
How many questions are there on the written test in KS?
There are 25 questions based on traffic rules and traffic signs in the Kansas written license test.
How many correct questions do you need to get in order to pass the test?
You must answer at least 20 questions correctly to pass the written exam (80%).
What happens if you fail the written test?
If you fail the Kansas written test, you will have to wait until the next day and pay the test fee before you can take it again.
How old must you be to apply for a driver’s license in Kansas?
At 15 years of age, you will be eligible for a restricted driver’s license that will allow you to drive to work or school.
At 16 years of age, you can receive a less restricted driver’s license.
At 17 years of age, Kansas drivers will be eligible for a full and unrestricted driver’s license.